Spooky piano

A white cat meowed and Clara followed it only to discover a room. Not just any room. A piano room. Long tangles of spiderwebs draped upon each piano key, but it didn’t deter Clara. She was brave. She scrunched her nose and held her breath as she peeled back the sticky layers.

Once removed, she let out a giant huff and made sure no spiders were on herself. Thankfully it looked that none had joined her. Satisfied with the job she had done, she gazed longingly at the piano keys. Clara knew it held magic and she planned to unlock it. She loved to play music but was never allowed to touch a piano like this. She was drawn to those as white as bone. Her fingers did a little wiggle, and as she touched the first key, a large note unlocked itself, ringing through the air, but that wasn’t all…


A purple light slithered up and settled in the form of a rather old tuxedo-wearing man.
‘Hear me, hear this! I am the ghost of the grand piano, and I demand to know who had awoken me!’
‘I am Clara, and I would like to play a song. What is your name?’
‘I am Chopin, and this was once my piano before it befell to neglect.’
‘It is lovely,’ said Clara.
She proceeded to play another key. It sounded light and rang sharp. A green light came from above the piano knocking into Chopin. It was yet another man in a tuxedo. He looked rather grave.
‘I am Tchaikovsky, who has summoned great music?’
‘I am Clara. I’m trying to make a song. Please let me think.’
Clara tried a few keys together that sounded like a small car crash.
A blue light appeared with a rather sad-looking man.
‘My name is Mahler. That chord can’t be what you desire?’
‘I am Clara, and no, it is not. It’s far too sad, and I want a happy song. Are there any more of you in this piano?’
The three composers shrugged, unsure for they hadn’t known the other had been there.
‘Happy, what sounds happy anyway?’ The little girl sighed.
A silent agreement was made by the composers to help her.
Chopin taught her notes using a bouncy staccato. Tchaikovsky told her about character and how music can bring a story to life. Mahler was hesitant but conceded that there was happiness to be found in a marvellous arrangement and interpretation.
After a long while, the girl felt pleased. She declared a concert to thank all three of them.


‘Thank you for helping me with my composition. I will now play a song about a bunny who saw a physician. It is called, “The bunny who broke a toe”. It is dedicated to all of you,’ she said with a small, shy smile.

Her song rang out joyful and playful. She had decided it was about a bunny who was scared and hurt, but then made friends with a physician who was in need of a friend. Chopin liked her inventive rhythms, Tchaikovsky liked how the melody differed between the bunny and physician. Lastly, Mahler enjoyed the confusion that led to friendship. All composers applauded. They thought her rather inventive. When Clara looked up to see her round of applause, she found the ghosts had disappeared.

Had they been there after all?

-Written by Stephanie Kentepozidis

Leave a comment